Forward from the Editors

Vicky Mrowinski BBSc (Hons) Assoc MAPS, Michael Kyrios PhD FAPS and Nicholas Voudouris PhD MAPS


It is with great pleasure that we present the Abstracts of the 27th International Congress of Applied Psychology. These abstracts represent the great breadth of topics covered by the presentations at the Congress, including over 100 State of the Art and other invited keynote addresses, over 200 symposia, almost 600 individual oral presentations, over 600 brief oral presentations, and over 550 electronic posters, bringing together more than 2000 presenters from 60 countries - a truly international event. The range and depth of the research reflected in these abstracts attests to the vibrant international applied psychology community across the world.


The 27th International Congress of Applied Psychology incorporated the 45th Annual Australian Psychological Society Conference, and on behalf of the Scientific Program Committee, we'd like to thank all who contributed to the scientific program on behalf of the IAAP and the APS. We would also like to thank the many Congress registrants for helping to make this such a successful event, both for the IAAP and the APS.


All abstracts presented here have been blind reviewed by a dedicated group of volunteer reviewers, who deserve our sincerest thanks for participating in the review process, many of them dedicating a considerable amount of their time to ensuring the high quality of presentations during the Congress.


This publication would not have been possible without the dedication and hard work of those at the Australian Psychological Society, who worked tirelessly to proof read, collate and format these abstracts. We are extremely grateful and thankful to Joanne Howard, Athena Politis, Renee Taylor, Jennifer Jackson, Kylie Murphy, Angela Nicholas, and many, many others for their support. Special thanks must also be paid to Laura Sciacchitano for her tireless effort and enthusiasm in completing this publication.


ICAP 2010 has been organised by an experienced group of local experts under the chairmanship of Professor Michael Kyrios

  • Paul Martin (President, Organising Committee)
  • Michael Kyrios (Chair, Scientific Program)
  • Mike Knowles (President, IAAP)
  • Lyn Littlefield (Executive Director, APS)
  • Bob Montgomery (President, APS)
  • Amanda Gordon
  • Lucy Krelle
  • Kate Moore
  • James Ogloff
  • Trang Thomas
  • Barry Whitmore
  • Nicholas Voudouris


ICAP 2010 Scientific Program has been organised by an experienced group of local experts under the chairmanship of Professor Michael Kyrios.

  • Michael Kyrios (Chair, Scientific Program)
  • Terry Bowles
  • Marie Caltabiano
  • Kerrie Clarke
  • Michael Daffern
  • Amanda Gordon
  • Ian Glendon
  • Heather Gridley
  • Tim Hannan
  • Professor Edward Helmes
  • Elaine Hosie
  • Vicky Mrowinski
  • Kathryn von Treuer
  • Daiva Verbyla
  • Nicholas Voudouris